TEEN SUMMER INTENSIVE

OVATION THEATRE’S TEEN SUMMER INTENSIVE:heathers-the-musical-logo_10
For High School and College Students

After an outstanding production of RENT: School Edition last summer we are excited to announce the return of our TEEN SUMMER INTENSIVE in which we are planning to mount a production of the wildly hilarious and campy HEATHERS: THE MUSICAL based on the 1988 cult film Heathers. The show, while a comedy, deals with issues of teen suicide, bullying, homophobia, and gun violence. Our program will feature an intimate cast of high school and college students. The final week of the program will culminate in a black box style performance. The program is audition based selecting students who excel in voice, acting and movement.

The intensive will be an in-depth “process focused” rehearsal period. Unlike with large cast shows, we will be able to truly feature all performers while pushing them to strengthen their skills in all aspects of musical theatre. All students involved will spend time:

  • Creating three-dimensional characters
  • Acting and emoting their songs
  • Making songs an extension of dialogue
  • Learning the process of script analysis
  • Interpreting text and sub-text
  • Understanding complex emotions, objectives and situations

Click here to reserve your audition for HEATHERS

Click here to download the HEATHERS audition paperwork

AUDITION INFO    
Auditions, rehearsals and performances will be held at the Pump House located at 401 S Horners Ln Rockville, MD 20852. Auditions and callbacks will be held on March 25, 2017 from 9am-12pm. Callbacks will be held from 2pm-6pm.

Auditioners should prepare two contrasting contemporary musical theatre pieces  consisting of 16-32 bars that showcases both your voice and acting with one song being from the show.

Please arrive 15 minutes before your appointment to check in and submit your completed paperwork. Please bring a current photo, resume and check payable to Ovations Theatre in the amount of $100.00.

The cast list will be emailed by 12 PM on Sunday, March 26 2017. Prospective cast members must email ovationstheatre@gmail.com indicating acceptance or rejection of their roles by 5 PM on Sunday, March 26 2017.

TUITION
Tuition for HEATHERS will be $675. There are limited financial aid and/or payment plan options available for this production. Full tuition is due Monday April 3rd unless payment arrangements are made in advance with the Production Liaison at ovationstheatre@gmail.com.

Click here to pay your tuition
Buy Now Button

AUDITIONS 
March 25, 2016 9am-6pm

REHEARSALS 
Tuesday May 23 6-10pm
Wednesday May 24  6-10pm
Thursday May 25  6-10pm

Saturday June 3  6-10pm
Monday June 5  6-10pm
Wednesday June 7  6-10pm
Saturday June 10  6-10pm
Monday June 12  6-10pm
Wednesday June 14  6-10pm
Saturday June 17  6-10pm
Monday June 19  6-10pm
Wednesday June 21 6-10pm
Monday June 26  6-10pm
Tuesday June 27  6-10pm
Wednesday June 28  6-10pm
Thursday June 29  6-10pm
Friday June 30 6-10pm

PERFORMANCE
Saturday July 1
Sunday July 2

CONFLICTS
Each cast member will be allowed a total of four conflicts. Please contact ovationstheatre@gmail.com with any questions or concerns.

13625371_1606940959618125_6494335147203991635_n

The Cast of RENT: SCHOOL edition in rehearsal July 2016.

%d bloggers like this: