SPRING AWAKENING

Book & Lyrics by Steven Sater

Music by Duncan Sheik 

Featuring students in grades 9-12

CLICK HERE to complete online registration paperwork

CLICK HERE to complete your Covid Liability Release Waiver

CLICK HERE to pay required tuition deposit of $275

LOCATION                                                                                                                          

All rehearsals and performances will be held in the Rockville/Shady Grove area located at OVATIONS STUDIO located at 16021 Industrial Drive, Bay 7, Gaithersburg MD 20877.

AUDITION SUBMISSION/CALLBACKS                                                                                      Video auditions for SPRING AWAKENING will be held by accepted through Monday, November 14, 2022.  In the title of your video submission please write “SPRING AWAKENING VIDEO AUDITION”. Please submit an audition video consisting of 16-32 bars of a musical theatre song in the style of the show and character you’re most interested in playing. Your selection should demonstrate both your vocal range and acting abilities. Those auditioning for the roles of Wendla and Ilse will need both a mix and belt piece.  Callbacks will be by invite only on Tuesday, November 15, 2022.

TUITION                                                                                                                        

Tuition for SPRING AWAKENING is $1199. Additionally, there is a required $100 costume fee. Non-Refundable $275 tuition deposit is due at the time of your audition submission. Tuition balance must be paid upon acceptance of participation prior to callbacks. Payment will be made through PayPal. The $250 Non-Refundable deposit (deposit will ONLY be returned if the student is not cast in production) will be applied to tuition balance. 

There is limited financial aid and/or payment plan options available for this production. Those interested should contact ovationstheatre@gmail.com. Full payment (unless payment arrangements are worked out ahead of time) is due prior to callbacks. Separation from the production, whether voluntarily or due to dismissal, is not grounds for a refund. Tuition in NON-REFUNDABLE.                                                                                                                   

ROLES

Wendla Bergman A sweet, but naive young girl who is trapped in her family’s unwillingness to teach her about the adult world, but with every passing day, she grows bolder and more curious about the her body. Both vulnerable and a willing participant in her evolution.

Ilse Neumann Beautiful and mature looking. A misguided young girl who runs away from an abusive home to live in an artists’ colony. Kind and resilient while also broken and stuck in a cycle of abuse. There is a strong emotional connection between Ilse and Moritz; perhaps in another life they could have been happy together.

Martha Bessell One of Wendla’s friends who is abused by her father, and she keeps the worst of the abuse to herself. She has a crush on Moritz, and is chastised by the other girls for it. Best friend of Anna and protective of her.

Anna A kind school girl and Martha’s best friend. She is more aware of injustice than the other girls and recognizes that what happens to Wendla is wrong. Has a secret crush on Martha.

Thea A confrontational school girl and Wendla’s best friend. Outwardly believes the adults but secretly questions the blind faith demanded of her. Does not want to rock the boat. Mistrusts Hanschen.

Melchior Gabor A headstrong, smart and charismatic schoolboy. He knows much more than the others because of what he reads in books and is able to see the corruption in society. His radical points of view about most things are correct but misunderstood. He falls in love with Wendla.

Moritz Stiefel Melchior’s intense and nervous best friend. He has an overwhelming confusion relating to sexual feelings, which seems comedic at first, but quickly develops into a serious issue for him. The system has failed him. Highly sensitive and aware of his inability to fit into the system. Feels like a failure. One of the childhood four: Wendla, Melchior, Moritz and Ilse.

Hänschen Rilow A cunning and attractive schoolboy, who manipulates the other students, especially Ernst, whom he seduces. Like Melchior, he also appears to be very intelligent, but uses his knowledge in favor of the system.

Ernst Röbel A sweet and naive classmate. He is Hänschen’s love interest.

Georg Zirschnitz A hormonal schoolboy who lusts after his older, busty piano teacher.

Otto Lämmermeier Another schoolboy who has a disturbing dream about his mother.                            

Woman 1 Plays the following roles: Frau Bergman: Wendla’s mother, Fräulein Knuppeldick: an associate of Headmaster Knochenbruch, and Frau Bessell: Martha’s mother

Woman 2 Plays the following roles: Fräulein Grossebüstenhalter: Georg’s piano teacher
and Fanny Gabor: Melchior’s mother

Man 1 Plays the following roles: Herr Sonnenstich: a schoolteacher, Herr Stiefel: Moritz’s father

Man 2 Plays the following roles: Headmaster Knochenbruch: the boys’ school headmaster and Herr Neumann: Ilse’s Father

REHEARSALS                                                                                                                   Safety and the health of our community is our number one goal.

Anyone—whether a student or staff – for rehearsal OR performance — must not come if they are: 

  • Running a temperature above 100 degrees F; 
  • Experiencing other symptoms of COVID-19 such as cough, chills, or body aches (including headaches); 
  • In direct contact with someone suspected of having COVID-19 in the previous 7 days; 
  • Recovering from COVID-19 and do not have at least two negative tests indicating that the virus is no longer being carried; or 
  • Are unwilling to comply with OVATIONS’s COVID-19 related procedures.

Rehearsals are generally Sunday afternoons 4:30-8:30pm and weeknight evenings from 6:30-9:30pm. A full rehearsal schedule breakdown is sent out to the cast during the initial weeks of rehearsal.

Monday, December 19

Tuesday, December 20

Sunday, January 8

Monday, January 9

Wedneaday, January 11

Sunday, January 15

Monday, January 16

Wednesday, January 18

Sunday, January 29

Monday, January 30

Wednesday, February 1

Monday, February 6

Wednesday, February  8

Sunday, February 12

Monday, February 13

Wednesday, February 15

Sunday, February 19

Monday, February 20

Wednesday, February 21

Saturday, February 25

TECH 

Sunday, February 26      2:00-8:00 PM

Monday, February 27     5:30-10:00 PM

Tuesday, February 28      5:30-10:00 PM

Wednesday, March 1      30 5:30-10:00 PM

Thursday, March 2      5:30-10:00 PM

Wednesday, March 8      6:30-10:00 PM

PERFORMANCES

Weekend 1

Friday, March 3     8:00 pm Performance 

Saturday, March 4     2:00 & 8:00 pm Performance 

Sunday, March 5        2:00 pm Performance 

Weekend 2

Friday, March 10      8:00 pm Performance 

Saturday, March 11   2:00 & 8:00 pm Performance 

Sunday, March 12       2:00 pm Performance 

CONFLICTS                                                                                                                        

Each cast member will be allowed a total of four conflicts. Seniors are able to add school auditions as additional conflicts BUT must show proof that absence is for an audition and not just school visit. 


THE WIZARD OF OZ

CLICK HERE to complete online registration paperwork

CLICK HERE to complete your Covid Liability Release Waiver

CLICK HERE to pay required Tuition for THE WIZARD OF OZ

LOCATION                                                                                                                          

All rehearsals and performances will be held in the Rockville/Shady Grove area located at OVATIONS STUDIO located at 16021 Industrial Drive, Bay 7, Gaithersburg MD 20877.

AUDITION

Auditions for THE WIZARD OF OZ SPRING will held in-person on Wednesday, February 8, 2023. Please prepare an audition video consisting of 16-32 bars of a musical theatre song in the style of the show and character you’re most interested in playing. Your selection should demonstrate both your vocal range and acting abilities. Callbacks will be by invite only on Thursday, February 9, 2023.

TUITION                                                                                                                        

Tuition for THE WIZARD OF OZ is $1199. Additionally, there is a required $100 costume fee. Tuition balance must be paid prior to auditions. Payment will be made through PayPal.

There is limited financial aid and/or payment plan options available for this production. Those interested should contact ovationstheatre@gmail.com. Full payment (unless payment arrangements are worked out ahead of time) is due prior to callbacks. Separation from the production, whether voluntarily or due to dismissal, is not grounds for a refund. Tuition is NONREFUNDABLE.

ROLES

REHEARSALS                                                                                                                   

Rehearsals are generally Sunday afternoons 12:30-3:30pm and weeknight evenings from 6:30-8:30pm. A full rehearsal schedule breakdown is sent out to the cast during the initial weeks of rehearsal.

Sunday, February 12

Thursday, February 17

Sunday, February 19

Thursday, February 23

Tuesday, March 7

Thursday, March 9

Sunday, March 12

Thursday, March 16

Sunday, March 19

Tuesday, March 21

Thursday, March 23

Sunday, March 26

Tuesday, March 28

Thursday, March 30

Sunday, April 2

Thursday, April 13

Sunday, April 16

Tuesday, April 18

Thursday, April 20

Saturday, April 22

TECH 

Sunday, April 23                  12:30-4:30 PM

Monday, April 24                 5:30-9:00 PM

Tuesday, April 25                5:30-9:00 PM

Wednesday, April 26          5:30-9:00 PM

Thursday, April 27              5:30-9:30 PM (Photography)

Thursday, May 4                 6:30-9:00 PM

PERFORMANCES

Weekend 1

Friday, April 28                    8:00 pm Performance 

Saturday, April 29               2:00 & 8:00 pm Performance 

Sunday, April 30                  2:00 pm Performance 

Weekend 2

Friday, May 5                       8:00 pm Performance 

Saturday, May 6                  2:00 & 8:00 pm Performance 

Sunday, March 7                 2:00 pm Performance 

CONFLICTS                                                                                                                        

Each cast member will be allowed a total of four conflicts. Those with more are still encouraged to audition and provide the production team with a full list of conflicts to consider by emailing ovationstheastre@gmail.com with the subject line THE WIZARD OF OZ CONFLICTS.

 

 

%d bloggers like this: